So Who Do You Know?

“It doesn’t matter what you know but who you know”, my uncle had said to me once when I was about ten years old and I hadn’t entirely understood what he’d meant by it.

Truth is, I hadn’t bothered to understand. I just assumed it to be one of the many things that all grown-ups told kids, you know, inspirational lectures that all grown-ups like giving.

After seven years of a series of demonstrations, unfairness, tears and reality checks, it has finally dawned on me.

It doesn’t matter what you know, but who you know.

And I can’t help but agree with how true it is.

It’s a cruel, cruel world out there.

Leave a Reply

